When we love we achieve

For much of my life I have been taught and strived to make something of my life. What did that actually mean? It meant to put me first, to achieve goals that would better MY life.  Those achievements included earning as much money as possible so I could look good amongst my peers and showing that I had a position and status in life. This may sound familiar to many of you reading this blog today. The scary realisation of all this is that as I strived for worldly achievements, it was at the expense of my relationships.

The bible thankfully turns worldly thinking on its head and God commands us to value relationships over everything else. Jesus declared that the two greatest commandments are to love God and love people (Matthew 22:36-40). The purpose of the Word of God is to govern our relationships with God and our neighbour. If our achievements in life don’t enhance our relations with most importantly God and then our family and neighbour, then we are not fulfilling God’s commandments and being the people God wants us to be.

Security comes from relationships, not achievements

A secure person is a person who is comfortable with himself and others. Many people strive up the corporate ladder, to please their peers before they please God, because they believe worldly achievements will make them more secure in an insecure world.  Would you rather be a lover of people or an achiever for oneself? God so wants us to understand this truth, because he knows that when we adopt it into our everyday lifestyle and putting relationships first, our desire to be more like Jesus will grow with every passing day.

Romans 13:8 “Owe nothing to anyone except to love one another; for he who loves his neighbour has fulfilled the law”

I often consider after a day’s work whether I do a reasonable competent job, with a heart of love? Do I just go through the motions or do I display the loving characteristics of Christ? More times than not I believe I do a professional job, without actually loving. Then God draws me to scriptures such as this one from Romans 13.

Anyone, including my good self, who accomplishes something at the expense of people, or elevates tasks over relationships will sow the seeds of their own destruction and the destruction of those around them.

Let us be Kingdom builders, that start with our own hearts. Let us remember that Godly achievements are all about loving relationships first. Let us remember that relationships are more important than achievements.

When we love we have achieved

Prayer: Lord help me today to love people and use things, and not to love things and use people.

Leave a Reply

